Newborn photography – when is it too late? FAQ

Taking photos of newborn babies is probably my favourite part of the job. I really love working with them even if it takes a lot of time, patience, a bit of crying and messy time 🙂 I hold naked babies so pee and poo on me is pretty common and part of the job ahahaha

When you have a baby, especially for the first time, you are going through a crazy time where everything is new and you have to get used to your little one and his needs, you have to cope with little sleep, crying baby, breastfeeding issues, and still you have the house, laundry, food . . .  and sometimes you think you can’t make it! I know how you feel. I’ve been there and I know it can be a mess 🙂

That’s why I understand how easy it can be missing the first moments of you baby’s life.

My baby is 3 weeks old, can I still have newborn photos?

Sure you can! Shouldn’t say that but really it’s never too late.

Luckily (for me) most of my clients are organised mums who get in touch during the pregnancy and we have all the time to discuss about newborn photography and sometimes about maternity photography as well. I can have those little babies with me within the first 10 days and that’s absolutely perfect. At this stage they are still very sleepy and they are used to the womb position they’ve been in for quite a few months, so they can curl up easily resulting in nice cute images. Here below babies were respectively 6 and 15 days old.

newborn-photography-cla-ham-batterseanewborn-baby-photographer-battersea-clapham-london

However, even if you book early, sometimes there can be some medical issues for mum or baby, so they need extra time in the hospital and I see the babies after 2 weeks, which is still okay.

Other times parents might realise they would love some photographs of their baby and have nice memories of their new family only when they hold them. As I said before because this is a pretty a hectic time it might take a while to arrange it for parents and babies can easily be over 3 weeks. Would I say no to parents? Of course not!

Ideally within 2 weeks is the perfect time, it’s easier to achieve better photos, but I would never deny parents such a precious moment. I photographed babies up to 40 days and a bit over and yes they were less sleepy and more sensitive to be touched but parents were in love with their photos. These babies below were 40 and 45 days old.

newborn-baby-photographer-battersea

This was a long answer to say please book early, preferably when you are still pregnant and you have some time to look for a photographer that you like and is right for you. I always invite my clients for a coffee because I think it’s important to know each other and understand if we are comfortable to work together. Then when you come with your baby you are a bit more relaxed too because we connected already. You will come when baby is around 6-10 days old.

However if you already had a baby don’t miss the opportunity just because you read on websites that newborn are photographed under the age of 2 weeks. You can still have pretty pictures, just talk to the photographer. You should understand that older babies couldn’t be happy in some positions, might be awake more but this doesn’t mean you can’t have lovely photos.

Can my older child be in the photos as well?

I highly encourage family in the pictures, especially if there are already brothers or sisters. That’s not the easiest thing to do, particularly if there toddlers but I will try my best to deliver a nice result. I know those images will be so precious for parents 🙂

newborn-photographer-clapham-battersea-chelsea newborn-family-photographer-battersea-claphamnewborn-family-photographer-clapham-battersea

I always always always ask mum and dad to be there too. I understand mum is not feeling in the best shape after birth but there is no grater image than a new mommy or daddy cuddling, kissing or admiring their child. The connection and the emotion will make the image.newborn-photographer-clapham-battersea-balham newborn-family-photography-battersea-claphamnewborn-family-photography-clapham-battersea

How should I prepare for a newborn session?

Just come in with your baby 🙂

Ideally try to feed the baby when you arrive. Come in, undress and swaddle baby and feed until he’s asleep. I will then take care of the baby and hopefully you can relax on the couch with a cup of tea and some snacks. Sometimes a full feed is enough to go through the session, others it takes a bit more time. There will plenty of breaks to feed the baby and make sure the little tummy is happy. So don’t be concerned if you spend more time feeding than me taking pictures 🙂

newborn-photographer-battersea-studio

 

2 thoughts on “Newborn photography – when is it too late? FAQ

Leave a Reply

